top of page

Invisible Beauty


There is beauty all around us; but are we seeing it? Do you forget to look around and take in God's creation or worse; do you just not see it anymore?

Someone I know mentioned the other day that they were traveling the following day and I said that it would be a great day for a trip as the scenery is beautiful. They said, "eh, when you drive it enough times you don't notice it."

Oh. Really? That's sad. It's springtime and the trees are budding, the grass is green and people have been mowing their lawns. Farmers are out in the fields under blue skies and puffy white clouds. What a terrible thing not to notice anymore.

My drive to Mass every day takes 30 minutes through southwest Wisconsin and I love the trip. First of all, I have time to pray a Divine Mercy Chaplet and a Rosary and that's always a great start to any day. Sometimes I have the windows open and I love the fresh air - though sometimes in SW Wisconsin, it isn't all that fresh smelling - lots of cows you know! I pass several small towns and can see a church steeple and cemetery from the highway in one of them; lots of farmland and bluffs, thousands of trees, horses, cows, deer, raccoons, skunks, birds and more bugs than I care to see (or clean off my windshield).

Sometimes it is raining, sometimes snowing, sometimes it is so foggy you can scarcely see what's in front of you, sometimes it is bright and shiny and other times, it is dark and clear and you can see thousands of stars in the sky. I love it. I am in awe always of God's creation. I have made this trip more times than I can count and honestly, I never grow tired of seeing all the beauty.

Right now I have the windows open and I can hear birds chirping, a dog barking, kids playing and I can feel a soft breeze coming in the window. What a joy to be alive this day!

Thank you Lord for eyes to see, ears to hear, a heart to love your creation and a mind that turns to you.

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
bottom of page